Short Film Jury Award

We will once again be recognizing the very best in short films by presenting the winner with an HKLGFF Jury Award. In order to encourage and celebrate LGBTQ short filmmakers, all the shorts in the programs have a chance to win the award. Book tickets to watch the short programs and see if you can spot the winner!

The members of the 2020 Jury come from various backgrounds in filmmaking and we are honored to have them be part of HKLGFF this year.

Lo Chun Yip
Lo Chun Yip is an actor-director who has been active in the independent film scene since 2011. He presented his directorial feature debut “Days After n Coming” in 2012. In recent years, Lo has devoted his career to acting with various appearances, such as “Fagara”, “No.1 Chung Ying Street”, “The Murders of Oiso” and “Suk Suk”, which he was nominated for the Best Supporting Actor in the Hong Kong Film Awards.

Jia Tan
Jia Tan is an Assistant Professor of Cultural Studies in the Department of Cultural and Religious Studies at the Chinese University of Hong Kong. Her articles on digital media, feminism, queer culture, film festival, and documentary have appeared in Crime, Media, Culture; Critical Studies in Media Communication; GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian and Gay Studies; Inter-Asia Cultural Studies, and Journal of Chinese Cinemas. She has been a consultant for various television programs and independent documentaries.

Jonathan Hung
Jonathan Hung has been the Festival Director of the annual InDPanda International Film Festival since 2005; and Director of InD Blue, a non-profit making film organization in 2003. He is also a film critic. He was the Development Manager of the Hong Kong Arts Centre Film & Video Department, mainly in-charge of the IFVA from 2000 to 2003. In addition, he was also a full time youth social worker from 1991-2000.